North Philippines Tourism and Travel Expo 2016

North Philippines

Cordillera Administrative Region (CAR)

1Consists of the provinces of Abra, Benguet, Ifugao, Kalinga, Mountain Province and Apayao. Baguio City is the regional center. The Cordillera region encompasses most of the areas within the Cordillera Central mountain range of Luzon, the largest range in the country. This region is home to numerous indigenous tribes collectively called the Igorot.

5The Cordillera is the Philippines’ Premiere Highland Region, adorned with breathtaking sights, cool climate, and best of all, a unique culture and people.

“Eighth Wonder of the World”. Natural attractions of the region include the Sumaguing Cave in Sagada and the mummy caves of Benguet and Mt. Province. There are four National Parks: Cassamata Hill, Mount Pulag (the second highest mountain in the Philippines with an elevation of 2,922 meters above sea level), Mt. Data and Balbalasang-Balbalan, located in the province of Kalinga.

Region 1 (Ilocos and Pangasinan)

1Located on the northwestern coast of Luzon island, it includes four (4) provinces: Ilocos Norte, Ilocos Sur, La Union and Pangasinan. It has a direct access to international sealanes, as it is bound on the east by the West Philippine Sea and the Central Cordillera mountain range on the west. It is expected to develop export-oriented agri-industrial and tourism activities 2due to its proximity to Taiwan, Hongkong and outhern China. Its land area of 12,840.2 sq. kms. is composed of towering mountains, thick forests and narrow coastal plains.

Tourist attractions in the region include the Hundred Islands National Park and Agno umbrella rocks in Pangasinan, the historical town of Vigan in Ilocos Sur, Cape Bojeador Lighthouse, Paoay Church and Paoay Lake National Park, Bangui-Pagudpud Beach, Bangui Windmills in Ilocos Norte.

Region 2 (Cagayan Valley)

6Region 2 is composed of the provinces of Cagayan, Isabela, Quirino, Nueva Vizcaya, the Cities of Santiago, Cauayan and Tuguegarao and the Island Province of Batanes. The Regional Center is Tuguegarao City, Cagayan while the industrial center is Cauayan City, Isabela.

It has rugged terrain along its boundaries, with the Pacific Ocean bounding it on the east, the Bashi Channel on the north, the provinces of Nueva Ecija on the south, Quezon on the south east and the Cordillera in the west.

Tourist attractions in the region include Chawa, Crystal, Sarokan, Nakabuang caves, Marlboro Country & Naidi Hills and Mt. Iraya in Batanes; the Callao Caves, Palaui Island and Rio Grande in Cagayan; Sta. Victoria Caves and Sierra Madre Natural Park in Isabela; Trekking at Mt. Pulag and Mt. Ugu in Nueva Vizcaya; Nagbukel and Aglipag Caves in Quirino.

Region 3 (Central Luzon)

6Only 66 kilometers away from Metro Manila, Central Luzon is the gateway to the Northern Luzon regions. It covers a total land area of 21,470 square kilometers, and is divided into seven (7) provinces, namely: Aurora, Bataan, Bulacan, Nueva Ecija, Pampanga, Tarlac and Zambales.3

The region contains the largest plain of the Philippines and produces most of the country’s rice supply.

Tourist attractions in the region include Botoloan Aeta Resettlement Site and Mt. Pinatubo in Zambales; Dicasalarin Cove and Beaches in Aurora, Mt. Samat in Bataan; the historical church of Barasoain in Bulacan; the colorful lanterns of Pampanga and the Clark Hot Air Balloon Festival.

North Philippines Tourism and Travel Expo 2015